Charming marvellous

Hi everybody,

so far I am on track with my New Year’s Resolutions. 2nd week in and I am blogging again. I want to see if I can keep it up to do one project per week. Should be easy now that I got the tax done … I can focus again on what I’d rather do.

Last night a had a quick glance at the Anitque’s Roadshow and they happened to be talking about the hidden messages in how one positions the stamp on the post card. A good one for valentine’s cards – using the Perfect Postage set I introduced you to last week – is to place the stamp side on … apparently it means longing to see you … will have to get going on doing mine.

Today’s project uses the ‘Charming’ Set from SU’s Spring Mini. I wanted to create a look that you get with vintage papers without going overboard with distressing.

For the background I stamped the image with versamark and embossed it with clear embossing powder to give a luxurious look. It is worth playing around even with the same colour combination to come up with different looks for the same basic idea. The Vintage Wallpaper embossing folder I used for the card to the left gives a different type of texture. Try exploring using a distress tool to slightly soften the edges of your card. I like it because straight edges can sometimes look a bit stark. It is especially useful if you struggle to cut straight lines.

Thanks to Nick for the tealight holder. He reminded me that I had those glass containers I always wanted to do something with. So I got some StazOn ink out, grabbed one of the ‘Charming’ stamps … et voilà

Hope I inspired you today

See you next week. Happy Crafting! 🙂

ps. just in case you wondered, yes it is the Lace Ribbon Punch that makes this beautiful border.

One thought on “Charming marvellous

Leave a Reply

