Colourful Roots

Hello Again,

Just a quick and easy project for today. It is a bit like going back to my roots, to where I started when I first got into card making – cut stamped images to colour in. To be honest I was never very good at it, that’s why I decided that now is the time to re-visit the idea and try to improve my colouring in skills.

All of this was of course sparked by ‘just popping in’ at WHSmiths the other day. As usually I found it hard to resist buying some of these lovely magazines with the even lovelier freebies. I treated myself to ‘Papercraft Inspirations’ and got a pack of colouring pencils and some LOTV pre-stamped images. Pencils and I were always like two worlds on a collision course, but I think I did alright. Judge for yourself:

I like the soft almost chalk like finish of the image. Please let me know what you think. I will be sharing some hints and tips in my next class.

I also re-visited some stamps I haven’t used in a while to stamp the flower border and the sentiment, both pick out the dots and flower from the main image and help to soften the background. Just another way of using your stamps. 🙂

Off to cook dinner now.

Happy Crafting!

supplies: stamps, border punch, green card stock, inks, glitter – Stampin’UP!; Nellies Multiframes, X-Cut nesting frames, patterned paper, white card, card blanks, gems – local craft shop; LOTV image, colouring pencils – Papercraft Inspirations

Leave a Reply

