Olympic Torch, Criccieth and Portobello Road

Hello Everybody,

What a week it has been!!! After coming home from the caravan on Tuesday, I immediately got stuck into the mountains of washing that had accumulated or more like I got the washing machine to do it. As we all know rain was forecast for the rest of the week …. and rain it did!!! But that’s only half of the story, the rest of my time got more or less divided between working and preparing for a Mind-Body-Spirit Fair where I had a stall. I felt I needed to do some advertising. There I went, all excited and thought that I could get a bit of work done … you can guess what is coming now … or so I thought. It was very quiet and I ended up wondering if it hadn’t been better to stay at home and do some crafting.

Luckily I had already made this week’s entry for the ‘Out of a Hat Creations’ Challenge. It got finished the previous night whilst watching tele, and it was a project I intended to do anyway, what better synchronicity does one want!!! Alas, an opportunity to catch up with projects in the planning.

I went for an all British theme. The mini scrapbook measures 7 x 7 cm or just under 3 x 3 inches and was cut from an A 4 sheet of sturdy paper, a larger size of the Union Jack, which I used to embellish the front cover. Both, front and back covers, are made from card which again was covered in a matching paper.

Here is what I used: Pictures from our visit to Criccieth on that lovely sunny weekend before the Jubilee; my latest eBay purchase Tim Holtz Typeset Alphabet Strip by Sizzix; Papermania’s Portobello Road papers a gift from my friend Sue; white card, red gingham ribbon, gems, small daisy punch, red fineliner pen from my stash (or local craft shop); ruby-red ink pad (retired), itty bitty shapes punch pack, natural ivory and riding hood red cardstock from Stampin’UP!

Until next time …

Happy Crafting!!!

🙂

… and now … may I introduce you to ‘London 2012’:

16 thoughts on “Olympic Torch, Criccieth and Portobello Road

    • Hi Valerie. Thanks for your lovely comment. I know England is quite special, but Kaiserswerth is nice too, unless it has changed beyond recognition in the last 20 years. Used to work in Duesseldorf 🙂 Hugs from Hoylake on the Wirral. 🙂 X

  1. Sounds like quite a week for you Monika-so lovely that you found time to make this wonderful little scrapbook for the Out of A Hat Challenge. I just adore it and think it might be the way forward for me to make miniature things as our house is almost full with my creations.

    Thank you for joining us again

    Love Chrissie xxxx

    jumbledcrafts.blogspot .co.uk

  2. Terric little book Monika and so pleased you found time to make it in such a hectic week Lovely that you made it to share with us at Out of Hat Creations.

    Thank you for joining in with us again this week

    Love Chrissie

    jumbledcrafts.blogspot.co.uk

    • Hi Chrissie. Thanks for your lovely comments. I put the link in manually as per Florence’s recommendation. Hope it works. Monika xxx

  3. Hi Monika! Your mini book is fantastic. I love the British theme/colours and your choice of red gingham ribbon really works well. What a great little memoire of your trip! Tracy:)

  4. Hi Monika. Pleased to hear you had a great time in the caravan. All good plans hey! Wonderful little book. What a treasure. Love it. Thats a great size to work with. It makes a super keep sake. Thank you for sharing with the Hatters again this week.
    Regards Florence xx

    • Hi Florence. Thanks for your lovely comment and thanks for the advice on manually inserting Chrissie’s link. Tried it today and I think it worked. Monika xxx

  5. Hi Monika,Your mini scrapbook is fabulous,lovely to look back on in years to come.
    Thanks for sharing with us at Out of a Hat
    Janet x

  6. Hi Monika, what a delightful little scrapbook such detail and the papers used just perfect. A lovely keepsake. Thanks for joining in with us again at Out of A Hat. Hugs Sandra XXX

  7. Lovely. It is an exciting time in the UK at the moment. We all need some good news so this is great. Thanks for visiting my blog Monika. Do you usually join the “Out of a hat creations” challenge? I’ve only entered a couple and it is fun and seems to be a very friendly group of crafters.
    Lorraine

    • Hi Lorraine. Thanks for pooping back. I started joining into the challenges about 2 – 3 months ago whenever I can. Everybody seems to be very nice. It also keeps me focused on doing something I love. You’re right we all need a good helping of what is positive. How did you come across ‘Out of a Hat Creations’? Monika xxx

      • How did I come across the challenge site? —- you know I do a LOT of blog surfing 🙂 so I’m not sure, but I think Florence may have left a comment on my blog. Have a good week Monika.
        Lorraine

Leave a Reply

