Box in a Box

Hello Everybody,

first of all: Thanks for all your lovely comments!!!

Next week I am meeting up with a friend for some crafting and today was planning day. I thought I’d do something a bit unusual and took some inspiration from The Ultimate Pro DVD (Crafter’s Companion) to craft a Box in a Box. Given that I was just that bit too late for entering my ‘Stash Raider Boxes’ into last week’s challenge at ‘Out of a Hat Creations’, I designed the whole project in ‘Black & White plus silver’ … and now I am able and in plenty of time to enter this week’s challenge 🙂 … which is ‘Black & White plus one colour’.

As you can see I have gone for a Christmas Theme with embossed mirri card and glitzy embossing powder. I was quite surprised as to how well the mirri card embossed, it has a kind of foil look about it which I like. Again I have been raiding stash as most of the materials and tools I used have been sitting in my cupboards for at least a couple of years. I am really enjoying looking through my bits and appreciating what I got.

Of course there is also another twist to it, I am also sorting some things out to go on eBay, some bits are already on … fingers crossed ….

… now back to the box. I am sure you want to know what it is like on the inside .. here we go

I think this box definitely has the ‘wow factor’ and I shall be making more of them. …and because I enjoyed crafting today how better to end than by making a matching card

This time I embossed some black core-dination card rather than the mirri card.

Here is what I used: mirri card, silver satin ribbon, white organza ribbon, rhinestone gems, Stikkles white lace glitter glue, sparkly silver and white embossing powder, versamark, versafine black and silver background inks, white card stock, white card blank, mirri card, Sizzix snowflake embossing folder from my own stash; Stampendous Timeless Tags stamp set from Creative Pastimes; Black & White Designer paper (retired SU), Contempo Christmas and Mixed bunch stamp sets, blossom punch, white craft ink, rhinestone brad, black & white ribbon from Stampin’UP!; snowflake punch from Creative Memories; Wild Rose Studio snowflake stamp set from Handy Hippo

That’s it from me for today

Back again soon

Happy Crafting 🙂

6 thoughts on “Box in a Box

  1. This is a fabulous creation Monika and so perfectly made. I love the idea of using mirror card in an embossing folder to give this rich looking finish to the top–what can I say about the surprise in the middle as well–just brilliant. Thank you for sharing your wonderful work with us at Out of a Hat Creations

    Love Chrissie xx

  2. Hi Monika, The box certainly has that WOW factor, its gorgeous. I love that mirri card and the surprise in the middle fabulous. I do hope you have a wonderful craft day with your friend. Thanks for joining us at Out of A Hat. Hugs Sandra XXX

  3. Gorgeous box Monika and beautifully made. Thank you so much for sharing with the Hatters again this week and being part of our happy little family.
    Regards Florence xx

Leave a Reply

