Oriental Patchwork

Hi Everyone!

I was delighted when I saw this week’s challenge theme at ‘Out of a Hat Creations’. It is Oriental Influences!!! Hooray, because I got just the card for that … and this brings me to what I have been up to. Well I mentioned that I made lots of cards for a competition I was entering, the closing date of which was today. It is called National Cardmaker of the Year 2012 and run by Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine. Hopefully I get somewhere and if not it was great fun getting all the cards ready. Overall I entered 7 categories (Tonic Studios, Woodware, Penny Black, Dovecraft, Stampin’UP!, Sizzix and Wild Rose Studio).

Now the card I am going to share with you is one I entered for the Woodware category and here it is:

It’s again a card that made itself, it just developed as I went along and out came the rich pink, purple and golden colours. The patchwork elephant stamp and the daisy punches are from Woodware. I stamped the elephant on watercolour paper and used watercolour pencils for colouring in. I then blended the colours together with a wetish brush, taking care that they wouldn’t bleed into each other. The sentiment is one I made up on the computer, the floral die is by Marianne designs and the one I used for the golden ‘mesh’ is the Memory Box Tessatina Border Die, the latter of which you can get from Handy Hippo.  The Sizzix Framelits dies are from Stampin’UP!. Everything else came from my own stash.

I am off now for a well deserved holiday. It’s only a short one, but I won’t be blogging now for a week.

Hope you all have a great weekend.

Happy Crafting!!! 🙂

… one would think it was dark when I took the picture, far from it, it was taken during full daylight … just very overcast … sorry!

10 thoughts on “Oriental Patchwork

  1. Just love this card Monika and you have worked so hard to make it look special.

    Thank you for sharing it with us at Out of a Hat this week.

    Hope you have a lovely holiday and come back refreshed. Best of luck with the cards in the competition.

    Love Chrissie. Xxxxxx

  2. Hi Monika, Fabulous card. Really love it. Perfect for Oriental Influences. The elephant is so adorable. Thank you so much for sharing with the Hatters again this week. Good luck with the competition… fingers crossed for you. Have a great holiday.
    Regards Florence x

  3. Hi Monika
    I love your Oriental card,the elephant is gorgeous & so pretty,great colours.
    Thanks for joining us at Out of a Hat
    Janet x

  4. Monika – love the cute elephant – perfect for Oriental theme. Hope you enjoy your break – if you’re like me you will be keen to get back home to your crafting, and check emails 😉

  5. Hi Monika, Elephants are my favourite and yours is gorgeous. Lovely card. Thanks for sharing with us at Out of a hat. Hugs Sandra xxx

Leave a Reply

