Happy New Year!!!

Hello Everybody!

Happy New year to you all!

I know we are already a couple of days into the new year, and I haven’t done much blogging over the festive period … so it’s time to catch up now.

Inspired by a demo on Create & Craft and having the urge to do something that I normally wouldn’t do, I decided to put my Hougie Board through it’s paces and leave the cosy security going for ‘safe colours’.

Somehow I had this thing of using yellow and turquoise, one could safely assume that this wish was borne out of the grey winter we had so far …

in this spirit here is something to brighten up anybody’s day … sunglasses to the ready …

yellow butterfly

For the base card on which the background is scored, I used some Dovecraft yellow card. As you can see the card is not coloured through, as a matter of fact it is only coloured on one side which makes it perfect as a base card and for sanding too.

You might remember the butterfly stamp from my Hidden Twinchies card and post. This time I coloured it in with Spectrum Noir pens from the pastels and lights sets, something Santa kindly left for me under the Christmas Tree 🙂 (Thanks Brenda and Jan).

I die cut two deckle edged ovals (Nestabilities, Spellbinders), the larger one from white card and the smaller one from turquoise core-dinations card. Here is what else I used: Fresh Cuts stamp set (retired SU), bakers twine, Daffodil Delight and Regal Rose ink, certainly celery grosgrain ribbon and card all by Stampin’Up!; Tessatina Memory Box Die from Handy Hippo: the gems came from my own stash.

If you want to find out what else you can do with your Hougie or any other score board, we will explore several options in my next card making class which is Saturday 26th January 12 – 3pm.

Hope to see you there.

Happy Crafting!!! 🙂

One thought on “Happy New Year!!!

  1. Happy New Year, Monika! Such a pretty card. I love the scored/sanded background. Great idea. Will have to give this a try. Love all the layers too. We’re buried up to our eyeballs in snow, so it’s nice to see something with a spring theme. Tracy:)

Leave a Reply

