Yet More Hougie!

Hi Everybody,

as you’ve probably guessed, I am in a phase of exploring creative uses of the Hougie Board for card making (it’s brilliant for boxes too, you can also use other score boards such as score pal, ultimate pro or Stampin’Up!’s score board).

I got two cards for you today.

The first one is the one I want to enter in the ‘Embossing’ challenge at Addicted to CAS, here it is:

Floral tile Thanks card

I basically used the Hougie to dry emboss some lines and in doing so create a frame for my stamped image. To give it a tile effect I inked the whole image square with versamak and double embossed it with clear embossing powder. For added shimmer I brushed some Ranger Perfect Pearls on and briefly reheated the tile with my embossing tool to heat set the perfect pearls. On the picture you can detect the slight shimmer towards the edges. I then mounted the tile using foam pads onto a slightly larger square of matching card stock before adhering it to the base card.

TIP: Don’t worry about any impurities in your embossing powder or if it is a bit uneven … it all adds to the character!!! 🙂

Here is what I used: Cream card blank with a slight embossed pattern 12x12cm when folded, Hougie board, scoring tool, versamark ink pad, Ranger Perfect Pearls and clear embossing powder from my stash; elegant eggplant card stock, rose red and elegant eggplant inks, so happy for you and botanical blooms stamp sets from Stampin’UP! (Both stamp sets are retired, but might still be available through eBay :-))

The second card is the one I want to enter into the Out of a Hat Creations ‘Most useful Stamp’ challenge. The stamp I used for the card is my most used stamp … and it truly is … from the Lovely as a Tree set by Stampin’UP!. Here it is:

Lovely as a tree cas

Again the image is framed by embossed lines, and I had to do some repeat stamping to get the border effect. Those trees have been popping up everywhere and they can be used as a feature, for collage stamping, as a background, as part of a scene, for Christmas cards …. the list could go on and on.

Here is what I used: always artichoke and really rust (retired) ink and lovely as a tree stamp set from Stampin’Up!; cream card blank, dark orange card and glamour dust from my own stash.

Hope you enjoyed my cards. Have a good weekend … until next time …

Happy Crafting!!! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Yet More Hougie!

  1. Both beautiful cards Monika and great use of your board for the lines.

    The stamp you have used looks like a very useful one for sure and the way you have used it acoss the card looks classy. Thanks for joining in with us at Out of a Hat.

    Love Chrissie xxx

  2. Amazing techniques you have used on your tile, the result of the double embossing effect is awesome! And I like so much the frames you have made for the tiles in both cards. Thank you for playing with us at ATCAS!

  3. Hi Monika love those tree stamps Ican see why you use them a lot. Both fab cards. Thanks for joining us at Out of a Hat. Hugs Sandra X

    • Hi Tracey. The Hougie Board is a score board, which takes 12×12″ paper or card. It is double sided with score lines every half inch on one side and every 5mm on the other side. I like it because I am a metric person and most others I know of use inch scale only. xxx

  4. Two lovely cards Monika. Love the embossed lines and the embossed tile on the first one. Great tip for using your Perfect Pearls. Thanks so much for joining us at A2CAS.

    Karen x

  5. Like. That tree one. Sister Joy went for results of breast cancer op today ,sad news another op feb 5th found more xx

    Sent from my iPad

  6. Sent from my iPad

    Begin forwarded message:

    > From: “Gill” > Date: 9 February 2013 19:05:52 GMT > To: > Subject: RE: Here is our lovely club stamp set for February… > > Hi Sue > > Great to hear from you, yes you can purchase this stamp set £8.99 either from our web: http://www.littleclaire.co.uk or please call us: 0151 342 5715 (Mon – Fri 9am – 5pm) and we can take your order by phone. > > Best wishes > Gill x > > Little Claire Ltd > > info@littleclaire.co.uk Twitter: @clairesdesigns > Tel: 0151 342 5715 > > http://www.littleclairesdesigns.blogspot.com our blog! > > From: Susan Mary King [mailto:susan.mary.king@ntlworld.com] > Sent: 08 February 2013 19:19 > To: > Subject: Re: Here is our lovely club stamp set for February… > > Can we purchase this stamp please? If so how much? > Hope everyone happy and well > Love Sue King > > Sent from my iPad > >

Leave a Reply

