Owl Greetings

Hello again,

The latest challenge at ‘Out of a Hat Creations’ is Butterflies & Birds, which makes me smile. I have two lovely owl cards I wanted to post today … and owls are birds … never mind that I didn’t manage to post one in time for last week’s challenge which was about texture. Well here they are:

lets start with the one I originally intended for last week …

girly owl

I used a lovely patchwork owl set from Woodware and coloured it in using promarkers. Well you could ‘properly’ patchwork it by either stamping on fabric or paper, cut it out and piece it together for a great effect. I did it once with a patchwork plane and it looked good, actually it won me 3rd price in a competition. Colouring in is just a bit quicker.

The textures which I wanted to go into last weeks would have been the felt hearts, the twine and the embossed tree in the background. I suppose one could have also entered the plastic button :-).

The next card is ideal for the boys in our lives …

boyish owl

… especially if they are Twitter fans …

For the wood grain background I used a Sizzix embossing folder available from Stampin’Up!, the letters on the other piece are actually pre-embossed core’dinations card called ‘core impressions’ which is new at Crafter’s Companion … anything to make life easy.

Again I coloured in with promarkers trying to get a washed-out denim look. I think I am starting to get the hang of it a bit … that’s after they’ve been sitting in my cupboard for 3 years or so before I dared to try shading. It just seemed to be too daunting … but not anymore.

The ribbon is from Fantastic Ribbons, in case you wondered.

That’s it for now … back later with a Clean & Simple Card.

See you soon.

Happy Crafting!!! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Owl Greetings

  1. Hi Monika

    Love both of these and great to hear you had made them for Out of a Hat. The owls are terrific and I loved the Twitter connection and will definitely be thinking about that when I am stuck for an idea.

    Always pleased to have you join us at the Hatters

    Love Chrissie xx

  2. Whoooo I love Owls and these Owls cards Are fabulous. Love the textures as well. So glad you joined us at Out of a Hat. Hugs Sandra Xxx

    • Thanks Sandra. Just tried looking on your blog, but somehow the link doesn’t work. Love your tag and the way you spelled ‘bird’. The stamp looks somewhat familiar, could it be a CraftStamper one … hmmm. Have a great weekend. XXX

Leave a Reply

