Queen for the Day

Hello Everybody,

how time flies. A couple of days have already passed since coming back from an extended Bank Holiday Weekend at the caravan … and what a weekend it has been … sunshine, BBQ’s, rain and earthquake!

Well, you did ready correctly. Wales was hit by an Earthquake in the early hours of Wednesday. Some reports put the epicentre just off the coast of Tudweiliog on the Lleyn Peninsula … and that’s where our caravan is, not in the sea of course, but just a field width away from the coast!!! Well it was only a minor one, about 3.8 or so, but it did wake us. It simply felt as if a strong gust of wind was shaking our van … but there wasn’t any wind. Never mind as hardened campers we turned round and went back to sleep. Can you imagine our surprise the following morning when we were told the news???

Now I know why the sheep were bleating all night.

Back to something crafting. The challenge this week at Out of a Hat Creations is ‘Jewel in the Crown’ which I turned into ‘Queen for the Day’

Queen for the Day

As you can se I’ve gone for all out bright and pinky girly. Normally I tend to shy away from such bright colours, but sometimes it does you good to try something different. It is also the first time that my doily die (by Cheery Lynne) cut properly … hooray!!!

In short, I stamped the images and coloured them in using Spectrum Noir Pens. I also coloured the doily with the bright pink pen to get a matching colour and attached it to my base card. I then mounted the crowns on a piece of turquoise card, attached them to my card before adhering the sentiment to a separate piece of turquoise card and attaching it using 3-D foam pads. To finish off, I rounded two of the corners and added some gems.

Enjoy!!! Back soon, have a great weekend!

Happy Crafting!!! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Queen for the Day

  1. So pleased you are safe after the earthquake Monika. What strange weather events are happening yhis year.

    Love your Queen for a Day idea and it fits in so well with the Hatters challenge this week. Always great to have you join in with us.

    Love Chrissie xxx

    • Hi Chrissie. Glad you like the card. The earthquake was only a minor one, and I have a history of sleeping through things like that. It happened in 1987, when working in Sussex. A bad thunderstorm turned out to be a hurricane. I eas probably the only one getting some sleep that night. 🙂 Have a great weekend. xxx

  2. Hi Monika
    So pleased to hear your ok, I slept though the 87 hurricane, I remember Kelly coming into my bedroom saying her room was moving, but that’s about it.
    I love the pinks you have used with the theme. Great card.
    Thanks for joining us at OOAH
    Janet x

Leave a Reply

