ATSM Challenge 52

Hello Everybody,

Thanks for all your lovely comments. Glad you liked my Joyfold Card last week.

It’s time for another challenge again at Addicted to Stamps and More, which this week is Challenge #52 Make your Mark.

This means, it is time to get out your pens and put them through their paces.

A new month and a new sponsor … Melonheads will be sponsoring the whole month of July, and each week the winner gets one bundle of their choice.

Button

Feel free to check them out, funky stamps for lots of uses.

Here is my DT piece for the week:

Doodeled Pets

As you can see, I went for the doodled look. I hadn’t used this Magenta stamp in a while and fancied doing something with it. I coloured the ‘three pets’ using my Stamp’n’Write Markers (perfect plum. so saffron and wild wasabi by Stampin’Up!) and stamped the image towards the bottom right hand corner. Next I stamped the sentiment (Wild Rose Studio) in perfect plum towards the top left hand corner … then I started doodling using the fine tip of my markers. For added interest I decided to use two colours, plum and wasabi, for my border. To finish I added some gems to the pets’ bow-ties.

Sound easy, and once you got the design right it’s also very quick to make. The card above is actually my 3rd attempt. Initially I used all the colours for a 3-line doodled border, it looked too heavy. Then I used too much pressure when stamping the sentiment, which lead to the lines being to thick, and it looked smudged. For the 3rd attempt I used my inkpad to ink the sentiment and my stamping mat underneath my card … so much for wanting to cut corners.

And here is how I modified my design to rescue my 2nd attempt:

Doodled Pets rescue

I stamped the sentiment again on a piece of white card, doodled a border around it, cut it out and edged the sides before adhering it over the smudged one. To balance the card off a few more gems were needed.

Please check out the designs of the team. They’re as always fabulous and will get your creative juices flowing.

Hope you join the fun at Addicted to Stamps and More.

Happy Crafting!!! 🙂

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “ATSM Challenge 52

  1. I love the doodling with those images. It goes together with them so nicely! You make doodling look and sound so easy. Mine never looks this good! lol 🙂

  2. Your doodled edge is perfect with the sweet stamped critters! Great save on the 2nd card. No one would have known you didn’t intend it.

  3. Hey up Monika. Fabulous CAS card. They both look perfect to me but I do like the addition of the gems. Great doodling. I always think style of card is really hard to do. Well done you!
    Hugs, Flo x

Leave a Reply

