Birthday Candles

Hello Everybody,

Thanks for all your lovely comments. It is Wednesday again and time for another challenge again at Addicted to Stamps and More, which this week is Challenge #55 – Photo Inspiration.

This means, you have to take inspiration from this photo:

Lots of inspiration there, I would think: candles, colours, stripes, dark background and Happy Birthday as far as I can see at a glance.

Our sponsor … Melonheads will be sponsoring the whole month of July, and each week the winner gets one bundle of their choice.

Button

Feel free to check them out, funky stamps for lots of uses.

Here is my DT piece for the week:

Birthday Candles

 

As you can see I went for candles, stripes and dark background. To be honest, this is my 3rd attempt at making this card. Initially I intended to chalk the candles directly onto black card, unfortunately my cardstock wasn’t smooth enough. Then I tried some freehand drawing with my finetip glue as I thought maybe glittery candles might be nice, it didn’t work out either. For this card, I went back to using the chevron and leaf stamps to create my candles and stamped them in versamark onto white card before colouring them with chalks. The versamark pick up the chalk quit easily. It is a good alternative to stamping with coloured ink and it gives the picture a softer more ethereal look.

I then cut my candles out and glued them directly onto my black base card, whilst slightly curving the tip of my flame up. I then rounded three of the corners, added the organza ribbon and finished off with a touch of glitter.

The chevron and leaf stamp I used came with the first issue of the ‘Get Stamping’ Magazine where one of the projects combined both stamps making a candle. Can you believe it, I do not have a single candle stamp or die in the house!!! … so much for my husband thinking that there is too much crafting stuff in our house 😀

Please check out the designs of the team. They’re as always fabulous and will get your creative juices flowing.

Hope you join the fun at Addicted to Stamps and More.

Happy Crafting!!! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Birthday Candles

  1. Gosh, I admire your perserverance!! Alls well that ends well. Fantastic card. Well worth all the effort. Inspiring idea for the challenge.
    Hugs, Flo xx

  2. I like how you made your candles, Monika! They look great against the black background and the ribbon is a lovely finishing touch. Sue x

Leave a Reply

