Stamps and Feathers

Happy New Year Everybody!!!

Hope you all had a great Christmas too.

Thanks for taking the time to pop by and for all the lovely comments you left.

This is my first post for the new year and my first post designing for STAMPlorations. It is time to ring in their January challenge with the theme ‘Stamps and Feathers’.

The winner will receive 2 Vignette or Patchwork Frenzy clear stamp sets of her choice. (Visit their shop to see the available stamp sets.) Also, the winner will be invited to be the Guest Designer in next month’s challenge!!!
There is a twist to the challenges …
Each month at STAMPlorations, we host 3 challenges: 1 monthly challenge that starts on the 1st Friday and 2 bi-weekly sketch challenges that start on the 1st and 3rd Monday. Those who participate in all 3 challenges for the month will be in the running to receive a prize package from our sister shop, All About Scrapping. We’ll randomly pick one winner and announce who that is the following month before the next monthly challenge starts. Remember, you must participate in all 3 challenges that month for a chance to win a prize.
How is that for being in it to win it!!!!

****

January 3 – Stamps and Feathers
(ends January 31; winner announced Feb 4)

I have used their Trendy Feathers set from the Vignette range for my creations.

Trendy Feathers I

As you can see I have also set myself the challenge to work with blue, a colour I don’t tend to use naturally.

For the above card I first stamped the light blue feathers and then stamped feathers again with Versamark and embossed tem with sparkly white embossing powder. I then used a shaving brush to bend light blue ink around the feathers to highlight them before adding a touch of dark blue ink to the edge. I stamped my sentiment in dark blue on a separate piece of card and trimmed it into a banner shape. I then layered my elements on light blue base card and added some twine and charm to finish.

Trendy Feathers II

For the above card I inked my feather stamp with blur ink and stamped the three feathers without re-inking in between. I then used a marker to colour the ‘a note’ part of the ‘Just a note’ sentiment from the set and stamped it in front of my feather before adding the three dots. I punched a border down one side of my light blue base card and layered as shown before adding a border and some highlights with a glitter gel pen.

Trendy Feathers III

For this card here I used again the stamping off technique to stamp my feathers before scoring a couple of lines and stamping my sentiment. I then layered it on my base card and added the rolled over corners and gem to finish.

Hope you enjoyed my creations. Please pop over to the Stamplorations Challenge Blog to enter your feathery creation and of course to see all the lovely projects of my DT Teamies.

Look forward to seeing your creations!

Happy Crafting!!!

8 thoughts on “Stamps and Feathers

  1. So much to love in all these cards. I like the soft colours of the first one with the white embossing. The silvers of silver in the second and the little curled edges in the third. looking forward to joining you on the DT

  2. Well, someone had a ball creating cards with the feather stamps 😉 I love how you created 3 different cards using the same stamp set — they’re all beautiful, although I gotta say I like the first one the best — the embossing and sponging are superb! I’m so happy to have you on the DT, Monika! 🙂

Leave a Reply

