Stretching Boundaries

Hi Everybody,

Thanks for all your lovely comments, they were very much appreciated.

Today’s project is all about going beyond the norm …

I wanted to make a non-traditional Christmas Card, and this is how it turned out:

artsy Christmas

Artsy Grungy, I suppose one could call it. Some masking and sponging plus the use of the Oh, Christmas Tree!, Holiday Artsy and Graphic Squares sets by STAMPlorations combined with the small stars stamp by Lavinia Stamps and some pinks and turquoise made for this unusual card. I think the splatters around the edge look a bit like pink icicles!

It is not my normal style, and I have been experimenting a bit of late trying to do a few different things like book and canvas projects. It is always good to stretch one’s imagination and go beyond perceived boundaries. I quite like it and I’ll definitely be experimenting some more.

Well I had to take the photo before the glue had time to dry as rain was threatening again.

I am going to enter my card into a couple of challenges:

Allsorts – one layer cards, mine is stamped directly onto my base card with some sequins and gems as embellishments

52 Christmas Card Throwdown – sketch , which is similar to the sketch #13 at STAMPlorations, hence I thought it might make for a good reminder project as it will be easy for everyone at 52 cct to join in 🙂

Hope you feel inspired to stretch your own boundaries a little and see where it takes you …

Enjoy and Happy Crafting!!!

 

11 thoughts on “Stretching Boundaries

  1. Woah, Monika! This is so funky! I’m totally diggin’ the pink and turquoise combo — not a color combo I normally use, but I’ve been seeing it a lot more often lately and I’m thinking I’m going to have to use that color combo soon! Great masking and sponging! I thought this had many layers the first time I saw it. The pink “icicles” are so cool too! It’s wonderful to read that you’re experimenting lately — it’s always fun to try out new things and stretch ourselves. Hugs!

  2. Lovely card and always nice and interesting to try something different from time to time.
    Thank you for sharing at Allsorts ‘One Layer’ challenge this week and good luck x Susan x

  3. I love this! The art grunge look is wonderful and I adore the colours. I think it’s great that you’ve tried something new and I think it is brilliant. Thanks so much for playing along with 52CCT this week!

  4. I love what you have done with the sketch, with your artsy non-traditional card. Awesome colour choice, turquoise and pink…wow! Thank you for entering our sketch challenge at 52 CCT this week
    Louise xx

Leave a Reply

