Weekend Makes

Hi Everybody,

thanks so much for all your lovely comments, they were very much appreciated.

As promised here are some of my weekend makes. Actually that is not entirely correct as my first card is one I made this afternoon, the others will be the weekend makes.

Christmas in July

I would like to enter this ethereal looking card into the Shopping our Jingle Belles Stash challenge at Jingle Belles Rock  and Shopping our Stash.

To create my background I used shaving brushes, picked up some ink and swept iin long strokes across my piece of card. The inks used, Concorde Crush and Melon Mambo by Stampin’Up!, have been in my stash for more than 3 years. I then used some generational stamping in Concorde for my Christmas Tree (Oh, Christmas Tree! by STAMPlorations) and to stamp my sentiment, which I stamped first on scrap then onto my card. This gives a slightly softer colour effect. The sentiment itself is a stamp  by Personal Impressions, one of my first ever stamps I bought well over 10 years ago, and it is still going strong!

I then simply layered onto my black base card and added a few gems to finish.

Now to my next cards …

… first a couple of quick birthday cards. The only difference will be the background …

Cake1

Cake2

 

I started off by stamping my cake (VIGNETTE It’s Your Day) in black and masking it off. I then used a simple printing technique involving the use of my blending mat to create the background:

– apply some yellow ink onto blending mat, spritzed some water and spread it out using brayer

– press the piece of card with your masked off cake face down into the ink on your blending mat and lift off

– wipe mat clean and repeat with pink ink

once dry and with your mask still on, stamp the brush stroke (VIGNETTE Celebate Artsy) in orange, the dots (Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds) in yellow, the splatters (Holiday Artsy) in pink and your sentiment (VIGNETTE Celebrate Artsy) in black. Remove your mask, layer on a piece of black and then onto your white base card before finishing off by adding some glitter to the cake.

… which reminds me that the Stamps & Glitter Challenge at STAMPlorations is on until the end of this month … still time to enter here.

All te stamps used in the above two cards are by STAMPlorations.

… and next a card where I’ve just been playing …

live the life

 

More about this card tomorrow …

until then

Happy Crafting!!! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Weekend Makes

  1. Like it. Saw Mary today she looks great but very frightened by DVT. She has another scan tomorrow. She said how sorry she was to have forgotten your bday for the first time ever. She said when she realised it was too late and so thought it wasn’t worth sending you one and then all this. She is so lovely I do feel so upset for her. By the way ages ago you said your sister wasn’t well but you didn’t wish to say anymore, forgot all about it but do hope things have since improved? Pauline going to go to Dianne’s but she wanted me, of all people, to text Dianne for her! I’m usually the one who needs ‘carrying!’ I did of course. See you sometime if in the meantime you go camping, enjoy. We go to van again next Tuesday I think Night night Sue xx

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. what a beautifully stamped holiday card! i love that gorgeous background! thanks for SHOPPING YOUR STASH with us at JINGLE BELLES! ♥

Leave a Reply

