Cottage and Birthday Treat

Hello Everybody,

Finally I am getting round to tell you about my birthday treat from last week. I had hinted at it in a previous post, but not as of today got round to going into more detail about it.

I went to a cardmaking class held by the lovely Maria Simms, she has a place in Birkenhead which is not far from where I live. Some of you might have already heard of her, she is a demonstrator for Clarity Stamps and her projects are regularly featured on Create & Craft TV.

The class price included a stamp which on this occasion was a cottage. Now this brings me to the artsy cottage card from my last post, here it is again to refresh your memory …

artsy cottage

As I already mentioned the cottage stamp was included in the class plus I couldn’t resist buying the stencil Maria used both of which I feature in my card.

My intention was to create a stamped card with an artsy mixed media feel hence I used Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds, Holiday Artsy (both by STAMPlorations), Grunge Me (by Papertrey Ink) and some freebie stamps (dog and sentiment) as well as my Clarity goodies to make this funky card. it is simply finished off with a punched flower, bead and sequin.

These were the cards we made in class, well not quite, I slightly changed them by adding a few bits …

cottage 1

Here I added some more trees (Tree Silhouettes by STAMPlorations) to the left, I had to add the initial one to cover up bad stamping, the birds, the sentiment and some grey outlines around the cottages for more depth.

cottage 2

Here I added some hills for more depth, the birds (Lavinia Stamps), the sentiment (Sheena Douglass) and some doodled lines.

cottage 3

To finish this card I added some more hills in the background to add more depth, the sun, my sentiment (Trendy Feathers by STAMPlorations) and some more trees to the left hand side before making my black base card which includes the punched border.

cottage 4

With this card I simply added some glitter and gems plus I mounted it differently first on grey and then onto my black base card.

bonus card

This one is slightly cut down in size, and I added the doodled line, birds (Lavinia Stamps) and sentiment (Wild Rose Studio).

Will have to finish this later and add all the links for you, BBQ is calling.

Have a lovely evening!!!

3 thoughts on “Cottage and Birthday Treat

  1. These are fabulous Monika. I do love how you have used I think it is a mask to create the landscape. Sounds like you have had a lot of fun. Always nice to try new techniques and chat to crafters about ideas.
    Hugs, Flo xxx

  2. Hi Monika. I love the cottage 3rd from below. Just Not sure, but your beautiful cards remind me of peace and tranquility i enjoy out in the country so much. It is something about country cottage that makes you want to live outdoors and forget the world and be creative with my crochet. It is so surreal. I love the depth you gave the cards with the trees, made them come alive. Which reminds me I have a stamp of a cottage with a Christmas theme, have not used it yet. Thank you for the inspiration. By the way I would also like to Thank You for picking my card at STAMPlorations as a Top Pick, much appreciated. I have blogged a post about it at my blog. Stamping with a Vengeance (http://monikastamps.blogspot.com.au/2014/07/top-pick-twice-awsome.html).
    Thank you so much for sharing and inspiring me as a design team member at STAMPlorations. Have a Fantastic Day 🙂 cheers Monika

Leave a Reply

