Up-cycled Ink Pad Storage

Hi Everyone,

Thanks so much for all your lovely comments. I am so happy that you felt inspired by some of my recent projects.

Today I have another one for you which I ‘m hoping will do the same. I’ve up-cycled an old washing powder tablet box to make a storage box for some of my new model (which has been out for 2 years) Stampin’Up! ink pads. I know some of you will notice that I seemingly store them the wrong way round, but there is reason in my madness. I simply find them easier to use that way. I get a better impression from my stamps and I am less likely to over-ink my stamps which leads to blotchy images. Well I am quite light handed when inking up my stamps too, so initially I was very disappointed when SU changed their ink pad design and I didn’t get the crips images I was so used to. But with perseverance and a bit of lateral thinking, I now have ink pads I can use! 🙂 I only needed to make another storage for them as my SU storage won’t take it upside down. Well it is full anyway, but  I might have been seriously tempted to buy another one.

Enough of my rambles, here it is:

ink pad storage 1

 

This is the front view. It takes 10 ink pads and turns out to be space saving too. The pads slide in and out quite easily despite there not being any little shelves for them to sit on.

ink pad storage 2

 

This is one of the side views. I didn’t want any of my embellishments to stick out to much hence they’re all glued into place. I used some DSP to cover my box, blended the edges, stamped some grungy bits (Grunge Me stamp set by Papertrey Ink), attached some ribbon (SU) and my self coloured swirl die cuts (eclips cartridge by Sizzix), covered the swirls with glitter glue, stamped, punched out and attached my flowers and finished off by adding some sequins.

Here is the other side view …

Ink Pad Storage 3

There is also a craft-along video I made with lots of hints and tips for for grunge look stamping and a more detailed explanation on how I made my Ink Pad Storage Box of course.

Hope you feel inspired to up-cycle some packaging of your own. Back soon with some more projects … until then …

Happy Crafting!!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Up-cycled Ink Pad Storage

Leave a Reply

