August Challenge at STAMPlorations

Hi Everybody,

a new month and a new monthly challenge at STAMPlorations and it’s STAMPS & Die-Cuts this month.

The challenge will end 31st August and the winner will be announced 4th September.

We are welcoming Karen from Snippets as our guest designer for this our August challenge.

Here it is my piece of inspiration for you …

Stamps and die cuts

To get some inspiration for this card I rooted through my box of bits. It is full of die cuts and stamped bits I made but never used on a project. First I grabbed the background, you may remember it from my video here from my Boxed Blooms Lily card, the one with he shrink plastic. It is the background I made before recording the video to try out the technique. The stamps are from the Boxed Blooms & Bold Sentiments set. Next I just picked out some die-cuts, punched label and a tag to see if the shapes would work and to my surprise the colours worked too! You never know what comes out of your box of tricks, it might just be perfect. I then stamped and punched out my sentiment from the VIGNETTE Celebrate Artsy set and blended the edges with brown before deciding that my tag and label needed some subtle texture. I then punched out a butterfly and daisies, edged my tag with white craft ink and layered my elements as seen adding some pearls, gems and sequins to finish.

Handy Tip! To add some subtle texture, emboss your card as normal in an embossing folder and then run it through your machine again sandwiched only between the cutting plates. This will flatten the card somewhat but will still leave you with a nice subtle embossed finish.

Hope you feel inspired to look through your box of tricks, I shall look forward to see your pieces of art. Should you need some more inspiration, pop over to the STAMPlorations Blog to check out the wonderful work my teamies have prepared for you. There you will also find the information about the prizes that are up for grabs.

Back soon,until then

Happy Crafting!!! 🙂

I’m entering this card into the following challenges:

Time Out #11 – Celebrations, optional twist butterflies – I think my card would make a great birthday or anniversary card

Shopping our Stash – Splish Splash, wet medium – I lifted a sprayed ink background print from my craft mat

 

Die cuts: swirl – Tim Holtz by Sizzix; flourish – Marianne Designs, Flowers – Sizzix retired Stampin’Up!,

Punched: label, oval and butterfly – Stampin’Up!; daisy – Xcut by docrafts

Tag, pearls, gems and card from stash

9 thoughts on “August Challenge at STAMPlorations

  1. I like that little tip about the embossing folder, I haven’t tried this but am going to! Great use of stash. Thanks for joining us at TIME OUT and have a fun weekend x

  2. Very pretty card! Love the pearls on the butterfly and the layers on the tag! Thanks so much for playing along with us at SHOPPING OUR STASH for the “Splish Splash” challenge!!

  3. Great use of die cuts Monika and the background looks great -this card has so many details to look at! Thanks for taking TIME OUT and joining our challenge! 🙂

Leave a Reply

