Halloween Pumpkins

Hi Everybody,

how time flies, it’s Wednesday again and time for another challenge at Addicted to Stamps and More, Challenge #68 – Addicted to Colours …

which are very Halloween … see for yourself …

Again, our sponsor this week is ….  Nicecrane Designs,

The winner will receive a $20 gift certificate to spend at their online store. Pop over to the shop and have a look what fabulous images $20 can buy you …

For this week’s DT piece I went for a Halloween inspired theme, here it is:

Halloween Pumpkins

I must say, I am not a Halloweeny type of person … in fact this is the first Halloween card I’ve ever made. Some of you might remember some Halloween Treat Bags I made for a challenge at Out of a Hat Creations last year, when I didn’t even have anything Halloween in my stash … a catty stamp and some hand drawn spiders had to do.

All of that happened of course before I discovered the joys of digital stamps and images, especially the ones from Nicecrane Designs.

For my card this week I used one image from the delightful Halloween Pumpkins and some digital papers called Grunge Fantasy Paper Pack, both from Nicecrane Designs. Both are perfectly suited for making some beautiful cards for this week’s colour challenge … and because I had so much fun making the card … I made a matching tag too! 🙂

Halloween Punpkins tag

I coloured my image using Promarkers for skin and shadow and Spectrum Noir pens for the green and mustard touches. I then cut my images out and blended the edges with mustard ink. For the layered background I punched a border using the green paper from the pack, and I also cut a piece of the black/grey and the black/green paper for layering. (My black/green paper looks more black/mustard, but then my magenta ink was close to running out. In fact I had to replace it after the sheet had printed). I also punched a lace border, a flower and some leaves from black card and some more smaller flowers from celery and mustard card. I then distressed the edges of my white base card with some black ink and blended the edges of my papers, but not the border, with black ink too before layering as shown and finishing off by adding some black pearls.

For the tag I cut some black card into a tag shape, layered as shown and added pearls and a length of black distressed celery ribbon to finish.

I as just thinking this combo could also be very suited for a late October Birthday card … what do you think??? Please let me know.

Hope that you feel inspired to enter this week’s ‘Addicted to Colours’ challenge at ATSM, please pop over and see all the other creations of the fabulous ATSM DT Team.
Please join the fun … look forward to seeing your creations … and
Happy Crafting!!! 🙂

13 thoughts on “Halloween Pumpkins

  1. Wonderful work Monika. I’m working with some of NCD halloweens at the moment. They are fab. Like you, normally I am not into Halloween cards but the images are so delicious. I hope to have one finished for this weeks challenge….. and take a photo!!! raining here.
    Take care, hugs,
    Flo xx

  2. Yes, these colours would work great for a October Birthday and I really love this skilful colouring of the image especially the shading around the image x

  3. Ah Monika that is just adorable. I don’t usually like cute but that is quite something,sure you will win! You would if I were judging. Love and hug Suesie K xx

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. These images are just beautiful. Nicecrane certainly knows how to give us wonderful choices. Your colouring is fantastic. Great job, Monika!! xx

  5. Beautiful images and you worked wonders by coloring them so perfectly. I love the distressing you did and also the coordinating designer paper 🙂 lovely creations

  6. OMG Monika,,,,love these unnusal colors,,,,,what a cute and adorable pict from my collection you used,,,but you add life,,,,to it,,,,,,,,,wow,woww,ww, I adore the back you used.

  7. I’m not much of a Halloween person, either, but I’ve made more this year than ever because of the blog and challenges. For your first ever, you’ve done an outstanding job, Monika! I end up using the ones I make without sentiments as either fall birthday cards or thank you cards, or even just ‘thinking of you’ cards. Well done!! Darnell

  8. I am not much of a halloween fan either! You did a great job with the challenge colors this week though…they were perfect for the halloween image you chose! I like that you made a coordinating tag to go with your card. Cute!

  9. I like cute Halloween cards and this one is FAB Monika!! What a gorgeous job of embellishing you did too. Absolutely awesome. Hugs D

Leave a comment