Sketch 13 Challenge at STAMPlorations

Hello Everybody,

It is time again for another Sketch Challenge at STAMPlorations. Thanks to everybody who entered our last sketch challenge. We had some great entries.

We’re also welcoming Monika from the sunny land of Oz as our guest designer for this challenge!!!

… and here is the sketch to take your inspiration from:

 

This challenge will run until 13th June and the winner will be announced on the 15st June!

Again there is a lot of scope in this sketch as you can see from the fabulous creations of my teamies on the STAMPlorations Challenge Blog. I personally came up with the following interpretation using SENTIMENT BUILDER Happy, VIGNETTE Retro Mod Shapes and Chevron & Arrows.  😀 …

retro happy

As you can see I went all dotty on you with some bright cheery colours.

First I covered my strips using masking tape, then I sponged my background using crisp cantaloupe ink and a dotty stencil, removed my tape and added the lines and faux stitching with a fine liner pen. I then stamped my sentiment in strawberry slush and black, did some more masking and stamped the pink circles (strawberry slush). I punched three 3/4″ circles and stamped the green circles (pistachio pudding and coastal cabana) before layering them onto my card and finishing off with some sequins.

Well I just managed to sneak in a second card …

Grungy Birthday

For this grungy birthday card I worked with the VIGNETTE Grunge Floral Strips which I stamped in smoky grey on my blue base card and the SENTIMENT BUILDER Happy which is stamped in black and hot pink. I then simply die cut some swirls punched a couple of white flowers and a heart shape from scrap.

TIP: The beauty about solid shapes is that you can easily alter them as I’ve done with the heart by including the swirly bit from my scrap (leftover from die cutting). I dabbed my shapes directly onto the ink pad to add texture and shading (hot pink for the heart and rose red for the flowers).

Sorry I haven’t done any tutorials of late, but I am still re-organising the craft space. The good news is it should be finished in a couple of weeks … at least that’s the plan.

For now I hope you like my cards and feel inspired by my little tips and tricks …

Please pop over to the Challenge Blog to see the amazing projects that my DT Teamies have created … and of course … to join in the fun. The winner will receive 3 digital products from our sponsor All About Scrapping and will be invited to be our Guest Designer for one of our Sketch Challenges.

As always there is a twist … If you enter all three challenges in June you’ll be entered in a prize draw to win 3 fab stencils. More details are on the STAMPloratios Blog. Will update you with a picture tonight when I get in from work.
Happy Stamping!!! 😀

What else I used

dotty stencil by Stamposaurus

swirl cutting die – freebie from Simply Cards and Papercraft Magazine past issue

hot pink pigment ink by Dovecraft

black memento from stash

heart and flower punch plus other inks by Stampin’Up!

8 thoughts on “Sketch 13 Challenge at STAMPlorations

  1. Both gorgeous cards, Monika – love the dotty design on the first, and the grunge floral strips make a fabulous background for your flower and heart vine.

  2. Lots of dotty goodness happening in the first card and I like how you paired the sentiment from Chevron and Arrows with the big happy. And those colors in the second card are gorgeous. The blooms look great against that stamped “BG”.

  3. Great cards Monika. I like the mix of colours in both of them but do love the way you combined all the circles and dots in the first one xx

Leave a comment