Summertime’s Challenge

Hello Everybody,

this week’s challenge on ‘Out of a Hat Creations’ is summertime … and what a challenge it was … The first thing that popped into my mind was ‘wellies’, probably due to the amount of rain we recently had. But jokes aside, when I think of summer the first thing coming to my mind are the colours yellow and orange followed by sun, flowers and sea … here is what I came up with:

The medallion stamp always reminds me of the sun. To start with I sponged some white card with Daffodil Delight (DD) and Tangerine Tango (TT) ink, then I stamped the ‘En Francais’ background stamp in DD onto the sponged card. I thought this was a fitting stamp to use. It talks about summer, and some years ago I spent one very hot summer working by the seaside in France. The flowers in the background are stamped in TT. Then I stamped the medallion in versamark and clear embossed it. To bring the image out I used a darker shade of orange (Cajun Craze) and sponged it all over, finishing off by removing excess ink with a clean tissue.

All the inks and stamps used are from Stampin’UP!, so is the olive-green ribbon and DD card stock; the organza ribbon and baker’s twine are from Fantastic Ribbons; embossing powder, gem and card blank came from my own stash.

Until next time

Happy Crafting!!! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Summertime’s Challenge

  1. Hi Monika. Fantastic card. Looove the colours and the stamping. The addition of the fibres and ribbon give it a real touch of luxury. Perfect for the summer time theme.Thank you for sharing your project and ideas with the Hatters again this week.
    Regards Florence xx

  2. This is one amazing card Monika with so many techniques and beautiful colours. Says lovely sunny summer days to me and I am sure we will have some of those soon in the good old Northern England

    Thank you for joining us at Out of a Hat Creations and for telling us the details of how you made the card.

    Love Chrissie xx

    • I love your pretty card Monika, the colours are certainly summertime all sunny and bright. Enjoy your week-end. Hugs from Scotland. Rita xx

  3. Hi Monika,Beautiful bright colours on your card,really summery,I know what you mean about the “Wellies” LOL.
    thanks for sharing at Out of a Hat
    Janet x

  4. Hi Monika, this is a very pretty card. I just love the colours and that stamp. Great techniques you have used to get the effects from the stamp. Thanks for sharing with us at Out of A Hat. Hugs SandraXXX

Leave a Reply

