Happy Birthday Shery

Have a fantastic day!!!!
Here is the card I made to celebrate with you …
DSC_0524
I simply stamped my background using the sentiments from the VIGNETTE It’s Your Day and the VIGNETTE Celebrate Artsy sets and layered my panel on a piece of brown card. I then coloured a small piece of white card by brushing my ink pad across it before stamping the cake from the SKETCHED Birthday Cake set using black Memento ink straight onto my colored piece of card. I then added some highlights using Promarkers and attached a strip of acetate one end to the back of my cake and the other end to the back of the brown card before layering it all onto my yellow base card and adding some glitter to finish plus a craft-along video tutorial. Here is the side view …
wobbly birthday cake 2
For the inside, I stamped the sentiment from the SKETCHED Birthday Cake into the bottom left hand corner and the cake partially on/off into the right hand corner, edged my panel with brown and adhered it to the inside of my card.
wobbly birthday cake 3
Next a couple of thing you might want to know about me:
1) Your favorite STAMPlorations stamp and why
At the moment I find it very difficult to put the Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds down, but then that seems to happen with all of Shery’s stamps. I love the way they are building blocks, when I use them I really feel like a kid in a toy shop. They seem to be infused with creativity. I hardly ever look at my other stamps nowadays.
2)  Your favorite piece of writing or your favorite book (Shery is a writer so she is surely interested in this!) and why
My all time favourite writer is Hermann Hesse. His most inspiring book in my books is Siddharta, I read it a long time ago and it still keeps on inspiring me.
3) Your message to the birthday girl Shery
Shery, you are wonderful, inspirational and such fun to work for.
Have an amazing day!!!!
xxxx

9 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Shery

  1. Monika, I received this card this afternoon! I’m telling you, the floating cake had me preoccupied for a good 15 minutes! (David was starting to get that worried look when I kept playing with it and turning your card over lol!) It’s ingenious the way you made that cake float! Thank you for being such a wonderful person. More than being one of the talented girls in my design team, I consider you a friend and I admire you for being so creative in your cards! (Just watched your video and wow, when you “ramble” you’re still so calm! I can’t ever be that calm that’s why I don’t do voice-overs on my videos haha!) Hope you and hubby are having a fun weekend! Hugs!

  2. Pingback: Paper craft no. 217: Thanks so much mixed media card | one layer cards, cas cards & other crafts

Leave a comment